Fried Noodles with Bean sprouts and Chick Peas


Noodles. As a person who originally comes from Asia, Indonesia to be exact, noodles is a sort of food that is very common in my country. There are lots of different kinds of noodles and obviously you can make it in different kind of dishes.

Today I wanted to share my own recipe. Well, it might not my own recipe since I just follow the recipe that my mother has taught me. I just modified it based on the ingredients that I had tonight which I used the bean sprouts and the chick peas together. You can use egg noodles or rice noodles.

The basic ingredients that my mother always teaches me to make any dishes of noodles are garlic, red onion, ground white peppers, and ginger. These ingredients can be put on the food processor or if not just chop them. If you like a spicy food then you can add Thai chillies and mix them together.

Ingredients:

6 cloves of garlic

½ of a big red onion

1-1.5 cm of ginger

1/8 teaspoon of ground white peppers

1 tablespoon oyster sauce

½ teaspoon dark soy sauce

½ teaspoon light soy sauce

½ teaspoon fish sauce (optional)

Thai chillies (optional)

1 red chilli

A pinch of salt

3 spring onions, chopped

310 gr or a package of bean sprouts

A can of chick peas, drain and rinse it with hot water

300 gr noodles, rinse them with boiling water

2 tablespoon cooking oil

½ teaspoon of sesame oil (optional)

fried onions (optional)

How to make it:

  1. Crushed together garlic, red onion, ginger, and chillies (optional). You can use the food processor or just chopped them together.

  2. Heat 2 tbsp cooking oil and fry the ingredients that been crushed for about 1-2 minutes or until golden brown and aromatic. Add oyster sauce, dark soy sauce, light soy sauce, fish sauce, ground white peppers and salt. Mix them together then add the chick peas and stir fry them for about 2 minutes.

  3. Add noodles and stir fry.

  4. Finally add bean sprouts and the spring onions and stir fry for about 2-3 minutes and then the meal is ready.

  5. Served it hot and you can pour it with sesame oil and fried onions.

Indonesian people might think this recipe is a little bit weird since they might have never had noodles with bean sprouts and chick peas. But hey! For me cooking is about creativity and instinct.

Since I don’t use any meat in this recipe so I think this dish suits for a vegetarian.

Would anyone have a go?

My fried noodles1

Garlic, ginger, red onion, and chillies are chopped together

*

My fried noodles2

It's done! Anyone?

12 thoughts on “Fried Noodles with Bean sprouts and Chick Peas

    • hahahahahahahaaha..you always put a smile on my face, Mark, LOL. Thanks for that.

      Yes, you can put the ice cream on top if it is too hot for you…hahhhahhahhaha…

      Have a good week ahead🙂

  1. I love d noodle texture,looks al dente. Jst a suggestion,reading frm d blog/web,another techinique of cooking fried rice/noodle is make sure d wok/pan is hot hot hot before u pour d oil so that this cooking can b done less than 5 mins. Dats also how abang2 or hawker cooks it over here.

    U go girl!

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

