My Unlikely-Trifle


Trifle. This dessert is one of my favourites. I used to buy it quite often in a small plastic bowl, 500 gr, and I could finish it in one go! Greedy, eh? LOL. It is just so irresistible. Unfortunately its price now has gone up! Argh!

To over come that obstacle (what a dramatic statement! LOL) I look for the recipe of the trifle and I got lots of ideas on how to make it and its variety, but one thing for sure they all have four basic main ingredients: fruit, sponge cake, gelatin, custard, and whipped cream. So based on those informations then I start making my own recipe that I called: unlikely-trifle.

Why is it unlikely-trifle?

First of all it is because I didn’t have some appropriate ingredients to make it such as sherry or madeira wine, gelatin, and sponge cake. I could use a substitute for the sherry wine but I just couldn’t be bothered. I used shortbread as a substitute for the sponge cake since I ever watched Jamie Oliver demonstrated on TV said we could use shortbread for many purpose in baking including trifle, crumble pie, etc. Hope I was right but that’s as far as I can remember.

Secondly it is only for myself to practice and to do my creation. I might had no experience before to make trifle, but I do have lots of experience in making such of dessert that use gelatin or jelly as the main ingredient. That’s why I decided to give it a go!

Finally I just used the ingredients that I had, i.e. one sachet of gelatin, one sachet of custard, one sachet of dream topping, 250 ml Chantilly Thick Double Cream, shortbread, meringues, canned peach, and some fresh fruits of orange, kiwi, and blueberry. I used meringues just as part of my creation since I needed to finish them off.

Now it comes on how to make it.

First layer. I made the gelatin according to the instruction on the sachet. I put straight in the blueberry when it was still hot then cooled it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and then later took it out for the next step.

Second layer. I crushed my shortbread to make it crumble while for the meringues I just divided it in small pieces. I arranged the crumble shortbread, meringues, orange fruit, and a half of canned peach on the top of the gelatin.

Third layer. I made the custard then poured it on the top of the second layer and let it cooled.

Fourth layer. I arranged another fruits that left on the top of the third layer including the kiwi fruit.

Fifth layer. This is the final layer where I put my mixing cream of dream topping and the Chantilly Thick Double Cream.

And finally here it comes!

My unlikely-trifle1

My unlikely-trifle

*

My unlikely-trifle2

My unlikely-trifle

*

It’s easy, isn’t it? Have a good Friday, everyone! *smile*

8 thoughts on “My Unlikely-Trifle

  1. That looks pretty good. I made trifle one time. I remember I used lady fingers, and all the other standard ingredients, like custard and sherry. It was really quite good. I made a huge bowl of it.🙂

  2. I’ll certainly be glad when computer technology evolves to the point where one can reach thru the monitor screen and grab things– like a big bowl of Unlikely-Trifle, for example!!

    Yeeee-um! Looks great! : )

    • You are free to lick your monitor screen, Mark…hahahhhhahaahahha…that’s what I always say to my online friends, LOL.

      Thanks for your great idea of the computer technology😀

      Thanks very much, Mark🙂

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

