Crocus Flowers are Welcoming Spring


Freesia. Yes, this flower has wowed many friends of mine when I posted its picture on Facebook two days ago. Some of them asked me what that flower is called and whether they are a family of tulip. Unfortunately I couldn’t answer any of those question because I really didn’t know its name and family. I made a promise to find it out later at the supermarket since lots of plants seeds been selling due to the spring is coming. So I went to ASDA supermarket and finally found its seeds there and from now on I know what the flower is called! It is Freesia Crocus!

My Freesia Flowers

This image of mine that stood out among others

Soon after I came home I browsed on internet to find it out more about this flower.

My Freesia Flowers

White Freesia flowers. I called it Three Sweet Girls.

According to an article on eHow: What is the Meaning of Freesia Flower, this flower is native to Africa and named after Friedrich Heinrich Theodor Freese, a German physician.

My Freesia Flowers

Purple Freesia Flowers

This flower is a symbol of multiple sentiments such as friendship, innocence, thoughtfulness, perseverance and being high-spirited. Also this flower is one of the most fragrant flowers and so used in perfumes, bath oils, soaps, lotions, scented oil, etc.

My Freesia Flowers

A group of Mauve Freesia Flowers

Β The pattern of this flower is known as ‘zygomorphic‘.

My Freesia Flowers

Its pattern known as ‘zygomorphic’

This flower is a sign to me that spring is already under way!

My Freesia Flowers

A Yellow Freesia Flower

*Camera: Kodak Easy Share C713

26 thoughts on “Crocus Flowers are Welcoming Spring

  1. Soooooooo biyutipuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuulll… Love it… aku syukaaaaaaaaaaaaa bunga-bungaan.. Makasih juga udah kasih aku bunga fresia ungunyaπŸ˜€

  2. wow….what a beautiful flower….aku lagi nyoba yg warna biru putih kupindahin ke kain, buat lukisan batik…thanks ya

  3. Pingback: Candid Photography: When A Bee Have Sunbathing | Ingset's Blog

  4. The photos are lovely but I think are of crocus ( or crocii if we’re being pedantic) rather than freesias. Both are beautiful. I found your blog looking for info on Freidrich Freese.

      • Please don’t apologise for a perfectly understandable mistake. I’m an old bat who loves flowers especially fragrant ones and used to be an R.H.S member. I too have tried growing freesias with disappointing results. I don’t blame the poor plants, designed for Africa and expected to grow outdoors in England. They might do better indoors in good light. Try colchicum or autumn crocus for some delicate flowers at the other end of the year.

        • It’s very kind of you. Thanks for your understanding and sharing your experience.πŸ™‚

          Last year I grew some freesia indoor but they never came out, I mean the stems. This year I did it outdoor but the same thing happened while they were new bulbs that different from the last year. I don’t know what’s going wrong. But I’ll try to plant it again next year.

          I also have a problem with my gladiolas. It was second year this year but failed to bloom. The greenflies always attacked them.

          I’ve bought some crocus but I don’t think so they are the autumn one but spring and will plant it for next year first time.

          This year I’ve succeeded growing dahlias, crocosmia lucifer, gloriosa lily, sunflowers, butterfly bush, sweet pea, polianthes tuberosa, and poppy, although I was struggling to keep the slugs and snails as well as the greenflies out of my plants.

          It’s nice to know that you used to be an RHS member. It’s nice to meet you here. Thanks for your adviceπŸ™‚

          • From your list of plants I think you have ‘green fingers’. I have never had any success with polianthes tuberosa. Some poppy species can be difficult and dahlias are not the easiest of plants. Everyone unless they garden on sandy soils struggles with slugs and snails. I have tried several repellents over the years. Natural remedies, chemicals and biocides but no one method has worked alone and almost daily vigilance is needed. The aphid battle is easier and old natural methods do work. I sadly decided not to grow honeysuckle in my last two gardens as it’s so attractive to blackfly. I think we have in common a love of fragrant plants. It’s delightful to meet you. I now have a tiny pocket handkerchief of a garden almost totally shaded by trees so getting little sun in South Yorkshire in England.

          • Thanks for your compliment.πŸ™‚
            Yes, I’ve read it on internet that not many people have succeeded growing the polianthes tuberosa. Some of them were never flowering though they were growing. I’ve planted six tubers and three out of them were blooming quite good while the other two were not completely open and one was snapped due to the guts.

            I also planted hyacinth and tulips and they grew very well.

            I was planning to plant the honeysuckle but cancelled it as I was quite frustrated by the slugs and snails and as you’ve said no method has worked alone. I’ll take on board what you’ve said about the blackfly.

            Yes, I do like fragrant plants. By the way if you don’t mind me to ask you then I would like you to help me identify this small fragrant flower here:

            http://godsloverphotography.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/perspective/

            Its smell like jasmine or polianthes tuberosa. I forgot to photograph its leaves. They grow like bush leaves. It smells very nice and strong. I’ve seen it around my neighborhood. Thanks in advance for your kind help.πŸ™‚

            You live in a nice place. I love Yorkshire. It’s a nice place.πŸ™‚

          • I just enjoy plants. I’m no expert. Off the top of my head I’d say jasmine, stephanotis or even individual florets of a lilac head. All scented. I planted jasmine ‘ clotted cream’ in my last garden. I thought it unsuccessful as it had few flowers. On close inspection I discovered tiny snails were climbing up the stem, hiding on the underside of the trellis and eating the buds. I found a biocide that worked but I had to pour it on the ground round the stem every month or so. My part of Yorkshire is the very ugly post industrial bit.

          • Thank you very much for your kind help. Really appreciated. From what you’ve said then it seems like those flower are stephanotis because their leaves look similar. So sorry to hear about your jasmine.

            It’s very nice to have small conversation here with you. I might post about my flowers one day.πŸ™‚

            Thanks once again for your very kind help.πŸ™‚

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

