Candid Photography: When A Bee Have Sunbathing


I was busy taking pictures of Freesia flowers when I saw one big bee was flying around from one flower to another one. I am not quite sure whether this bee is sort of Western honey bee (European honey bee).

Finally she landed on one flower for collecting nectar. I was observing her whilst standing still nearby. I then decided to approach her closely.

 “Hello there. What are you doing?” I whispered to the bee.

Sunbathing Bee

"Look at you! The buds all over your body!"

I squatted down and observed still.

Sunbathing Bee

"You are not finish yet, eh, are you?"

I decided to leave her on her own for a while and took some pictures of the flowers around without giving too much noise. I just didn’t want to disturb her.

Then I came back to check her…

Sunbathing Bee

"Oh! You are tired. I bet you are full right now. Enjoy the sunbathing, mate!"

When I was enjoying her sleeping then she started to move and all of sudden I saw her stood up right in front of me!

Sunbathing Bee

"What are you doing here? Are you stalking on me? Are you taking a candid picture of me?" asked the bee to me.

It was the first day in March 2012. Welcome to the spring!

*Camera: Kodak Easy Share C713

9 thoughts on “Candid Photography: When A Bee Have Sunbathing

    • benar, mbak Deasy….sampahnya mengganggu ‘kenyamanan’ mata. tapi ya kalau kusingkirin, ntar si lebah terbang deh…hahahahahahahahahahaa

      iya, cukup lama loh dia bobok disitu =))

  1. This is magical. What intimate photos you have of that bee’s life, & the flower. Really wonderful – & to think, most people just walked by…

    • Auw, thanks very much for your compliment and for coming by. Really appreciated it!🙂

      Yes, I cannot agree more with you that most people just walked by and not bothered by this kind of moment. I myself like to observe it and enjoying it. They always amaze me: the flowers, the bees, and the insects.🙂

      Thanks very much once again.🙂

    • I always say that only smart guys who have great sense of humor and you are one of them, Mark! You’ve proven me once again that I was right!😀

      Thanks for your support and compliment!🙂

      Yes, it was pretty scary when she confronted me. But believe me that I could only see it clearly when I checked it on my computer, LOL.

      It was really amazing to observe it though at the time.🙂

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

