My Photojournalism: Newfoundland Dog Event at Lake Bala


Last weekend or on Easter Sunday to be exact, I went to Lake Bala in North Wales for a day trip with a friend of mine. We arrived there at about 1 pm. Apparently there was Newfoundland Dog Event taking place when we got there.

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

The situation of Newfoundland Dog Event

The dogs are giant and it was my first time to see that kind of dogs.

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

Isn't he/she giant?

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

Have a break

They were trained for lifesaving. The dog had to swim to his or her owner and the staff trainer who were waiting for in a lifeboat. When the dog reached the lifeboat then he or she would be given a rope that been tied to the boat, and with that rope the dog had to drag the lifeboat to the coast.

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

The preparation

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

Are you ready?!

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

The dog started swimming to the lifeboat

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

"Keep going, buddy! Keep swimming!"

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

"Come on, buddy! You are nearly there!"

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

"Good boy/girl! Now take the rope!"

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

"OK, buddy! Now it's time to go back to the coast!"

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

Another ones were having a break or perhaps waiting for their turn

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

The two buddies: the owner and the dog

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

This dog refused to swim into the water. It took ages to persuade him/her.

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

Finally he/she started swimming after back and forth into the water.

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

As the dog swam by, the owner cheered him/her on.

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

"Yes, come on, buddy! You're nearly here!"

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

"Oh, noooo!" said the owner. The dog made a U-turn before reached the lifeboat and swam away.

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

Gutted owner

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

Another try?

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

They were barking for whatever reasons

My photojournalism of newfoundland dog event

A dog with his/her life-saving jacket

It was an interesting event to watch.

14 thoughts on “My Photojournalism: Newfoundland Dog Event at Lake Bala

    • hihihihihihihihi…memang asyik pemandangan disekitar ini, mbak Deasy. Ini bgn dari Snowdonia National Park, taman nasional terbesar di Wales dan salah satu dari tiga yg terbesar di Inggris.

    • Saya kurang tahu jenisnya jenis apa, mbak Della. Ini anjing bulunya tebal banget, makanya suka aja berenang kayaknya.

      Kalau baca dari wikipedia, maka anjing ini memang cocok banget di air krn punya webbed feet dan water-resistant coat. Itu sebabnya mungkin dipakai utk lifesaving scr badannya juga gede dan kuat plus temperamentnya cool, jadi tdk membahayakan manusia.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newfoundland_%28dog%29

    • Thank you!πŸ™‚ I just noticed that your picture profile is one of those dogs. I was quite scare when I saw them that time, but apparently they are not such an aggresive one as it is stated on Wikipedia.

      Thanks for your comment.πŸ™‚

      • They are actually known as ‘Gentle Giants’ and can be known to be lazy as they age.They have a mission to rescue people and are such sweethearts…like a big ol’ stuffed teddy bear. : ) Their size can be a tad intimidating for some, but their spirits are so unbelievably sweet. The one in my profile is Miss Stella when she was a pup.

        • WOW! It’s very interesting to know them more. I could feel it though their sweet spirit as you said, because none of them were barking at me as other dogs when they meet a stranger. That’s is why I enjoyed it watching them on the training.

          Thank you very much for your more info about the dogs. It’s very helpful and so I really appreciated!πŸ™‚

          By the way please say hello to Miss Stella.πŸ™‚

  1. The sequence where the dog turned around before reaching the boat and went back was very funny– unless you happened to be the dog’s owner, I guess… : (

    My guess is, the dog wanted to check his email… : P

    Great photos, Inge!

    • ahahahahahahahahaha…your comment always bring happiness to me, Mark! I always couldn’t help myself to laugh at the time when watched that ‘tragedy’. And when I saw the owner’s face on my photo it makes me laugh even more, LOL.

      Thank you, Mark!

  2. Pingback: Bala, Love at The First Sight | Ingset's Blog

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

