My Blurry Red Sunset


Red sky at night, shepherd’s delight

Red sky in morning, fisherman’s warning

My blurry red sunset

That phrase I heard it first time from one of my English friend few years back. We were sitting inside the Subway while eating our food when the sun was going down. The panorama of the sky was just simply beautiful! Red sky and the big circle of the sun. I just couldn’t stop staring at it. Unfortunately I missed taking picture of the red sunset at that time since my friend took me long way to the beach and by the time we arrived there the sun was gone already. Gutted!

Β My blurry red sunset

Last year on April another friend of mine took me somewhere for a weekend and on our way back home we saw the same panorama of the sky, the red sunset. We were on a motorway on that time and I insisted my friend to park anywhere possible because I wanted to take some pictures. It was a battling process, LOL, because it’s not easy to get a parking space while the sun sank slowly at the horizon. Finally we got a space and I just jumped out of the car straight away. I think it was quite cold at the time as far as I could remember and I had no gloves put on because I was in hurry. My hands started freezing and felt numb but I just kept going taking pictures. That is one reason why the pictures came out blurry. The other reason was I had no tripod and still lack of technique. The only thing I could think about on that time was just try to shoot the big circle of the red sunset. I used my Samsung Digimax A7.

Β My blurry red sunset

To improve the quality of my blurry red sunset images then I used Picassa by applied the auto contrast, increased the shadow (tuning), and then soften it.

Β My blurry red sunset

Hope you like it. What do you think?

15 thoughts on “My Blurry Red Sunset

    • It is indeed! Pity I’ve lost lots of my photo files while with my Samsung camera I took many good pictures though apart from these ones…hahahahahahahahahaahaha

    • Well to be honest with you I don’t know too much about the phrase since I am not an English. When I asked my friends what it means about red sky at night, they said it means for the next day the weather would be nice.πŸ™‚

      Thanks for your comment, Katie.πŸ™‚

    • I used to don’t like to do editing except for fun, mbak. I rather keep it original. But then I realize that sometimes we do need it to fix some mistakes that we’ve made when took pictures, just like mine above.πŸ™‚

      Basically the features and the setting that the cameras have is the same as image editing process by a software. They are just different mechanism though the bottom line are the same.πŸ™‚

      So it is up to the person which way/one he/she wants to use it.πŸ™‚

  1. I tried 6 different pairs of glasses, but the pictures still look blurry to me… : )

    Just teasing, Inge. They have a nice soft focus that’s very pleasant. I also liked your color adjustments in the last image.

    Hope your poor hands have finally warmed up!! : )

    • hahahahahaahhaahhaa…you are hilarious, Mark! Always make me smile with your great sense of humor!πŸ™‚

      I actually didn’t do much with the color adjustments. I only did auto contrast to all these images. So it was the nature that did that.πŸ˜€

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

