My Banana Cake: A Combination Recipe


Few months ago I read on Twitter of somebody whom I’ve followed about the story behind his wife successful business of selling banana cake. He said that one day they had overripe bananas at home and were planning to throw them away. But before they did it the wife decided to search on internet if there was any recipe using overripe banana. Fortunately she found it and started to make it. After tried few times then the wife started to share it with their friends especially when they had party. Apparently they got good responds. Since then their friends always order their banana cake and then how the wife has started her business in selling banana cake.

Few weeks later after reading that tweets I bought some banana fruits that been reduced due to their condition that nearly overripe. I bought them for making smoothie. Some of them nearly went off before I used them all. Luckily I remembered the story of the wife and did the same thing by searching on internet for the banana cake recipe. Apparently there are lots of banana cake’s recipe on internet and I decided to combine two recipes that I got. One from BBC Good Food: Banana Cake by Ghis, and one from DeliaOnline: Banana and Walnut Loaf. I’ve been making this cake twice or three times in a week ever since, but only in past few days I’ve used walnut as stated in Delia’s recipe and it tastes better.

Here my combination recipe:

 

Ingredients:

4 overripe bananas (medium or large)

150 gr walnuts pieces

170 gr soft brown sugar (or demerara sugar)

170 gr self-raising flour

170 gr butter at room temperature

1 rounded teaspoon baking powder

1 level teaspoon ground cinnamon

grated zest 1 orange

grated zest 1 lemon

3 large eggs

Few drops vanilla essence

 

Method:

I follow exactly the method from Delia’s.

And here you go:

My Banana Cake: A Combine Recipe

This cake is very easy to make and can kept for few days, unless you finished it in one go!

Excuse me to finish mine, LOL.

13 thoughts on “My Banana Cake: A Combination Recipe

  1. mmmyummy! I love banana cake. I will put this in my gazillion to do things.πŸ™‚ Better yet, I will ask my husband to do this for me.πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    • Great! I reckon it would be nice to put or adding some raisins too. Perhaps it would taste like fruit loaf. Would you have it a go?πŸ˜€

    • It does indeed, mbak. Yes, you can reduce the sugar if you wanted to. The reason why I use the brown sugar instead of the white sugar is because it’s healthy.πŸ™‚
      There’s another way you can do that is by using overripe bananas that look like nearly off. Those kind of bananas taste sweeter so by using it then you can reduce the usage of sugar.πŸ™‚

  2. Banana Bread, is a North American staple. Love it. Variations include adding chocolate chips, dried cherries, or dried cranberries. If your bananas go ripe and you don’t have time to bake, put them in a ziploc freezer bag and throw them in the freezer. Then you can pull them out when you need them. You can squeeze them out of the peel frozen. They almost have a richer taste.

    • Aha! Thank you very much for sharing your tips! Yes, few weeks ago I got a recipe from a fellow blogger here and he uses dark chocolate, raisins, and Irish whisky! So I combine his recipe with what I’ve already known.

      I sometimes get lots of ripe bananas that been reduced and obviously I can’t use them all. So I’ll follow your tips! How long can we keep that ripe banana in the freezer?

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

