Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth


Growth. That’s the theme of Weekly Photo Challenge for this week.

I didn’t know what to post for this week theme until I got my best picture of my beloved cat just yesterday! I’ve been taking photos of my 16 months-old cat but never got his best posed! It’s not because he keeps moving when I take his photos unless he fall asleep, but I think he’s a camera-shy, LOL. His name is Budi, an Indonesian name. I love him and his mom to bits.

My Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

My Budi was observing the birds

I used to didn’t like a cat, any cats, and never thought in a million years to pet any. It’s strange enough to think how my love to them is growing day by day ever since I got them. It’s even more strange when I look back at the time when I was deciding which one of my two kittens, Budi and his brother Owen, to be given away. Budi wasn’t close enough to me compared to Owen. He always looked scare and timid. He would run away every time I tried to hold him. It was totally opposite to Owen that was very friendly and easy going.

My Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

My Budi

My initial plan was to keep Owen with me and giving Budi away to anyone who looked for a pet because I thought Budi and I were not bound to be together due to his behaviour at the time. No point to keep him if he didn’t like me. At the same time I felt sorry for him if he had to go. I was worried whether he could get on with his new owner and surroundings since he always run away every time some friends came to my place. I was totally in a dilemma. I had some discussions with some friends about which one I should kept. When finally I had decided to keep Owen instead of Budi then a weird thing happened! Soon after I said to my friend on the phone that I would keep Owen, Budi jumped straight away to my lap and sat there quietly and let me stroked him for the first time ever! I felt like he was telling and begging me to not giving him away to anybody! It really was a strong feeling at that time.

My Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

My Kitty Mama

That is why he is living with me now. We are growing to love and trust each other more and more, day by day. He is my little boy. Budi and his mom, Kitty mama, have changed my perception about cats, the ones that I used to didn’t like it…

My Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

Budi and Kitty Mama. What a copy cat!

We are so meant to be, guys…

21 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

    • Thank you very much for your comment and big support, my big sista! Really appreciated!πŸ™‚

      Yes, it’s easy to photograph Kitty Mama compared to Budi. That’s why I always get her good posed.

      I don’t know about a special key to shoot animals? What is it if I may ask you?
      I know an online friend from Aussie and I’ve asked her tips to shoot my cats especially because they have black hair. She said to me try to shoot with shade WB, put them under the light, and bouncing the flash to the ceiling. But since I use built in flash so I cannot bounce it.

      Thank God we have some friends at Kampret, LOL. They suggest me a tricky way to bounce my flash by covering my flash with white paper or tissue. That would help to reduce the flash reflecting to the object.

      I set my shutter speed at 1/200 to freeze their moving, especially Budi. That’s what I do.

      Any tips you would like to share, I really appreciate it and thanks in advance.πŸ˜‰

      • I read some discussion about how takeshot for the animal, if the buttons are not available on the camera, than we can using the sport or continue key. These two buttons provide the possibility, because shutter speeds be shorter, a moving object can still be caught. For the continue key, we can make a series of movements from Budi. For shutter speed how about 1/800? I used continue to catch the show of sparrow bird, and the result…muah fantasticπŸ˜› @Inge can seen in my other photo blog.

        • ah! I’ll check your photos later, sista.

          Yes, sometimes I used continuous shot style as well, especially for shooting the birds. I’ve never tried to use 1/800 of SS. If we used 1/800 for instance then what you set up your f-stop? Do you use a high ISO as well?

          Thanks for your info, sista.πŸ™‚

          • Thank you very much my sista @Inge, interesting discussionπŸ˜›

            When I set up 1/800 I get F 4. I used S key. But we must remember, it all depends on where we takeshot the object. Because Sunlight and Room light are very different. Accordance with the advice from Mas @Adjie /Kampret, I always used ISO 100, also for night photography. ISO 100 for our camera series gives very good results. I’ve ever ISO with high value, but the results are very disappointing. Because the object image becomes very dark. Since then, I was always setting the value of 100. Thanks a lot Mas @AdjieπŸ˜›

            About the buttons P S A M, we can choose which ones we think are most easily.
            Sometimes I use key S, but mostly I used A. We can get A through the buttons GUIDE.

            Thank you very much my little sista @Inge, hope that our discussion is useful. We have the same camera series, thus we can share.πŸ˜†

          • We are in opposite way, sista, hahhhahahaahaha…

            I rarely use S or A or P mode, still practicing at M mode.

            I read few days ago on Nikon website about the use of high ISO. Apparently that would help us in a poor light condition. I’ve been trying to use high ISO few times for outdoor shooting, and the result it’s good. So I’m tempting to use it for indoor shooting.

            Last week I was shooting some flowers in a quite windy day. So I set my SS at 1/200 to freeze it and open the f-stop in a small number. It was ok, and Mr. Ouda Saija suggested me to reduce the SS at 1/125 and also said we can use high ISO as a combination to help the SS.

            I honestly haven’t tried to use high ISO for indoor shooting. I know that it’s better to use the lowest ISO as mas Ajie has suggested so we won’t get too much noise such as grainy. But so far for outdoor shooting the result is ok to me.

            Those my pictures about inside Liverpool are my examples. I think I used ISO 200 at the times.

            Here from Nikon’ site:

            http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d3100/features01.htm

  1. Thanks a lot for the information sista @Inge, wow fantastic. I will practice with high ISO, perhaps because it failed at that time so I trauma. I will once again try with high value ISO. Honestly, I can not practice M mode because have not bought tripod. Later maybe.πŸ˜€

    • You are very most welcome, sistaπŸ˜‰

      You no need to worry about practicing M Mode without tripod. I’ve been doing it and it’s OK, unless you wanted to use your Tamron then obviously it’s good to have it.πŸ™‚

        • Oh, you didn’t mention it before if you wanted to set the SS to ‘BULB’. For that reason you do definitely need a tripod, LOL.

          Few months ago I asked a friend of mine to bid me a secondhand tripod on ebay. But then one day he took me along to pick up his stuffs that he had bought online. And when we got there, the guy to whom he bought his stuff from was selling his pro tripod on ebay and we saw it on his garage. The guy said he had put it on ebay few days but so far no one had bid it at the time. So my friend made an offer and finally he agreed to sell at GBP 60. The tripod is in good condition and it’s for professional use. Unfortunately it’s not handy to take around with me since it’s too heavy for me to carry it!

          Friends at Kampret say it is a very good tripod. So I suggest you to look for it on ebay. You can get a lot of bargain there.πŸ™‚ I’ll tag you the picture of my tripod on FB if you want.πŸ™‚

          • Sist, thus tripod is must. Acctualy for gbp 60 are very cheaper sist. Very pleased if I can see your tripod on FB. Big hug sist. Thank you very much for this important information.πŸ˜›

          • Yes, it is a must for SLOW shutter speed, mbak. Many pictures of mine that I’ve uploaded here are at M mode without tripod because I set it at 1/3 to 1/200 or more depends on the surroundings at the times.

            It is very cheap indeed and I’ve sent you its picture when replying your message.πŸ˜‰

            Thanks to you as well for very supportive and informative discussions.πŸ˜‰

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

