Story Challenge: Letter “B” is for Blue Moon


Early of last month some friends from the photography group where I join at had talked about blue moon that was occurring at the end of August 2012. I was quite exciting about the news though didn’t know too much about it. One friend explained that the full moon would occur twice within a month and the second one is called blue moon. At first I thought that the moon would turn blue in colour as called but apparently I was wrong! It’s called blue moon because it’s a rare event.ย  As a result there is a phrase ‘once in a blue moon’. Well I never knew it before to be honest.

So last Thursday I prepared myself to take pictures of the moon after checked the forecast though the blue moon would occur on Friday according to the news. Good that I did check it, or otherwise I would miss it! The weather was good on Thursday while it was raining on Friday started in the afternoon. I started taking pictures after 10 pm on Thursday and stayed up late.

Here my photo series of the blue moon:

My Photo Series of The Blue Moon

Taken on Thursday, 30 August 2012, 22:25:57

My Photo Series of The Blue Moon

Taken on Thursday, 30 August 2012, 23:17:52

My Photo Series of The Blue Moon

Taken on Friday, 31 August 2012, at 04:24 :51

Did you ever know or hear about the blue moon before?

This post is to participate in a Story Challenge: Letter “B” by Frizztext. Hope you enjoyed it.

Have a Blessed Sunday, everyone!

19 thoughts on “Story Challenge: Letter “B” is for Blue Moon

    • Thank you, my big sista.๐Ÿ˜€

      I wouldn’t mind to see your picture of the moon. Perhaps we can share something about it as usual. If you got different color, perhaps you set your White Balance differently and deliberately. But also sometimes the weather and clouds give impact to the colour of the moon.

      FYI I shot my third photo without tripod but through the window of my toilet.๐Ÿ˜€
      I was going to toilet before went to bed then I saw the moon smiled at me through the window toilet, LOL. So I just took a chance to shoot it. Apparently that’s my best shoot at the time!

      Don’t give up, sista. Keep try. One friend of mine once told me that shooting the moon is much difficult rather than the sun. And I couldn’t agree more with her.๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Dear friend @Inge, I think I’ve given up ;( hiks. The moon so big
    but I can only watch. I’ve tried several times .. you’re right @Inge, too many clouds. Thus I’ve only white moon.

    You say about White Balance, I am setting in Auto. Because till the dark only under the shadow, clouds, etc. Another time I’ll try. Thank you very much for sharing.๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Pingback: Blue Moon on Melodica | Cardinal Guzman

  3. Beautiful Shot, Inge! If I were a werewolf, I’d be very hairy right now!! : P

    “Once in a blue moon” is an expression I’ve heard all my life, meaning something that occurs very rarely. But I often forget that the expression is derived from the rarity of having a full moon twice in the same month. Thanks for the reminder, and I hope next time the blue moon will really be blue– now that would be something to see! : )

    • Hahahahahahahaa…your comments always put a smile on my face, Mark! Thanks for that!

      I never heard about the phrase of ‘once in a blue moon’ but at least now I know it!

      Thanks for having made my day, Mark!๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

