From Sweden to France: Laxpudding and Rhubarb Compôte


This Wednesday I went to my friend’s place for a dinner as usual once in a week and she gave me a recipe that she got from a cafe in IKEA when she went there before. The recipe is a traditional Swedish dish called Laxpudding or Salmon Pudding. I used smoked haddock fish instead since smoked salmon is too expensive for me.😀

The recipe that my friend got it from is slightly different with the recipe that you can read it here as well, Laxpudding.

Here the recipe that I got:

Ingredients

400 gr Lax Kallrökt (smoked salmon, frozen. I used smoked haddock instead0

10 medium size potatoes (I used 4 big size Cyprus potatoes)

1/2 tsp salt

3 eggs

4 dl single cream

50 gr butter

Green salad

Horseradish sauce

Method

Peel the potatoes and cut in slices. Butter an oven/serving dish and add alternate layers of salmon and potatoes (top and bottom layers should be potatoes). Sprinkle each potato layer with salt.

Whisk cream and eggs in a bowl and add to the oven/serving dish together with a couple of dollops of butter.

Heat in the oven for 50-60 minutes, 175 degree Celsius (350 degree Fahrenheit).

Serve with horseradish sauce and a mixed green salad of choice.

And here you go! I made it yesterday.😀

My Laxpudding used smoked haddock

It tastes so delicious! I added one (1) fresh bird chilli because I like hot food. Still yummy!

And what is for a dessert? This time I made Rhubarb Compôte from DeliaOnline‘s recipe. First time I tried this recipe I added some strawberries and last night I made it for the second time without strawberries but added 1 tsp of ground cinnamon instead. I served it with vanilla ice cream. Delicious!

My Rhubarb Compôte with Vanilla Ice Cream

From Sweden to France, it ends in my stomach, LOL.

Have a great weekend, everyone!🙂

11 thoughts on “From Sweden to France: Laxpudding and Rhubarb Compôte

  1. @Inge, your recipe very delicious 😛 I will try another say. Yumi…. Btw, this is YOURS … thus I say perfect for WPC theme “Mine” 😆 what do you think ? ntong lami lami ah mikir na… ha ha ha . Sist, I am very busy at the moment, someone order a special Christmas card.🙂 50% to be used for the Church’s mission, to feed the poor children in India. I think one from Mother Theressa mission, I do it with pleasure.😀

    • ahahahahahahaha….paling ikutnya di saat2x terakhir lagi, mbak hahahahahahaaha

      Btw I’m glad to hear about the Xmas card. Good for you and very kind of you, sista! The children must be very glad. I am glad for you!🙂

  2. The next time I go to a restaurant, I’m gonna take my computer monitor with me and show them this post, and point to the pictures and say: “This is what I want, and I want it now!!” : )

    Looks wonderful, Inge. And I busted out laughing when I read From Sweden to France, it ends in my stomach– ha!! : )

    • hahahahaahahaha…Finally I could make you busted out laughing after long time I’ve been waiting for! What is the best thing that I can hope for from a cartoonist or humourist illustrator if it wasn’t to make him or her laughing?! Yes!😀

      Thank you very much, Mark! I am so glad to read your comments. You made my day!🙂

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

