When Cooking Oil Met Water


When cooking oil met water in photography then they could create an art work.

On my previous post here, Dirty but Beautiful, I shot some pictures of canal water that been contaminated by some oil from the canal boats I supposed. The sunny bright weather had created a good art work by reflecting the shadow of the trees and other surroundings onto the water.

Those photos have inspired me to try a photo experiment called Cooking Oil Close-up Photography by Bryan Peterson.

Here my results:

Β 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have you every tried this kind of experiment? Hope you enjoyed it.

Have a nice weekend ahead!πŸ™‚

23 thoughts on “When Cooking Oil Met Water

      • One day, I might. πŸ™‚ You got pretty good results. I saw a similar tutorial about oil and water a long time ago. The photographer used baby oil in her photos. πŸ™‚

        • Thank you, Imelda.πŸ™‚
          Yes, I think we can use any kind of oil as long as it doesn’t contain too much hydrogen so it won’t mix with the water easily therefore can create nice bubbles.πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, mbak Nita.πŸ™‚

      Cara motretnya seperti pada tautan yg saya sertakan diatas yg dibuat oleh Bryan Peterson.

      Jadi peralatannya adalah wadah trasparan dari kaca, minyak, air, dan kain bercorak warna-warni. Saya potretnya outdoor dibawah sinar mentari. Semakin terik akan semakin bagus.

      Caranya: kain bercorak ditaruh di lantai tanah. lalu wadah trasparan diisi air dan minyak, dan ditaruh tepat diatas kain pada jarak tertentu dgn menggunakan penyangga (cek videonya), lalu tinggal potret.

      Kain bercorak itu yang memberi nuansa. Silakan dicoba, mbak.πŸ™‚

    • I did have fun when did this experiment and so excited although I failed on my first attempt.

      Thank you very much for your comment, Otto. It’s very encouraging and I am so pleased!πŸ™‚

      Blessed you.πŸ™‚

  1. Wow, Inge, something very different from you– and very beautiful! I immediately thought of an old science fiction movie (circa 1966) called Fantastic Voyage. Scientists in a submarine are miniaturized and injected into a man’s blood stream. Great special effects: huge corpuscle globules floating by, etc.

    Your photos look like abstract art. I find myself wondering if people would buy them as posters or just plain “art”– something to frame and hang on a wall. Something everyone would see and respond to a little differently. If you’ve ever considered selling your work online, these might be excellent candidates– great work! : )

    • Oh, Mark, I couldn’t be happier reading your comments! That’s really a boost for me to know what you were wondering about my photos! It’s such a high appreciation came from you based on your knowledge and experiences.

      I cannot thank you very much for your big support and encouragement!πŸ™‚

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

