Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination


Aha! It seems like I am the last blogger to submit my entry for this week of Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination? Oh, never mind. Last but not least.๐Ÿ˜€.

Apparently illumination is the new theme for this week. It was my fault didn’t check the post date. I got mixed up since I’ve been absent this photo challenge activity for quite long time. I am sorry for my mistake and big thanks to SimplySage for the correction.

Based on its theme this time so I wanted to share what I’ve been learning and shooting recently, Bokeh.

Few weeks ago I had little discussions about creating bokeh photos with an online friend of mine, Campanulla Della Anna. In that our discussions she’s shared some technique of creating bokeh photos yet how to create them with different shapes such as love, smiley face, butterfly, and so on. The good thing about that was she taught me how to create our own bokeh shapes kit which you can check the links here, Creatief: DIY Bokeh Kit or How To Make Custom Bokeh Shape. I chosen to follow the steps from Vink Academy instead.

In this experiment I used two lenses: a telephoto lens and a kit lens. That means I created two different size of the custom bokeh shape. I had some difficulty in creating bokeh shape for the kit lens since the hole that I had to make is too small, 1cm x 1cm. That’s why the shape is not quite neat. In order to make the shapes I used die cut shapes that used to make a card or a scrapbook instead of drawing them by myself because I am not good at it.

I also used the bokeh shapes for the telephoto lens to the kit lens because it could create abstract shapes apparently by moving the custom kit in circular way in front of the lens, just like using a CPL filter.

Here they are:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, what do you think? It’s cool, isn’t it? I still need to practice more anyway.

Have a good weekend!

46 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

    • Thank you, Imelda.๐Ÿ™‚

      For the love, broken heart, and butterfly shapes, I followed the steps from Vink Academy about how to make our own kit as you can check the link above.

      For the abstract shapes, I shot them with my kit lens by using the bokeh kit that I made for the telephoto lens. I moved the kit in circular way like using CPL to get the shapes I liked and then shot them.

      Also I used a plastic box to create a reflection of the lights so that’s why in some photos you can see different shapes of bokeh due to their reflections on the plastic box.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination « KnowledgeKnut

    • Thank you, PhotoLeoGrapher. Glad to see you again.๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks very much for your support. Hope it’s not too late to wish you A Happy New Year. All the best for you!๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Simply stunning! The Illumination post was released just yesterday so you are right on time. Yours is just amazing. I’m working on mine and I’m definitely going to include this as a referring article. You’ve done marvelous with this technique!!

    • Ah! Thank you very much for your information about the theme challenge, SimplySage! I got mixed up because I’ve been absent for quite long time, that’s why I got mixed up and didn’t check the post date. That’s my fault. Thanks once again for the info. I’ll edit it later.๐Ÿ˜€

      Thank you for your very encouraging comment about my photos. Really appreciated. By practicing this technique then lots of inspiration come up apparently! So it’s good to have it a go and I am looking forward to seeing yours!

      Good luck!๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ahahahaha…thank you, dinda. You can make it too if you wanted to.๐Ÿ˜€

      I’ve already posted this earlier at Kompasiana๐Ÿ˜›. It’s easy to make so I hope you would like to try it.๐Ÿ˜‰

      • katanya di video itu harus pake lensa prime๐Ÿ˜› Pinginnya nyobanya udah lama sih mbak tapi males aja buat itu motif2nya hehe. Jadinya jepret bokeh yang udah ada aja deh๐Ÿ˜€ Ditunggu mbak tutornya di Kompasina๐Ÿ™‚

        • Di video itu mmg dia pakai prime lens, krn prime lens menghasilkan bokeh yg bagus oleh krn bukaan aperturenya. tp itu saya pakai telephoto lens (zoom lens) dan kit lens krn gak punya prime lens๐Ÿ˜›

          Yang bentuk2x abstrak itu semua saya pakai kit lens, tapi polanya utk zoom lens. Saya hanya putar2x kitnya didepan lensa. Buat dong, kan gampang itu caranya. ikut saja yg dari link Vink Academy itu, krn dia lebih simple cara buatnya dibanding yg ada di video itu. Hanya yg Vink Academy itu petunjuknya utk zoom lens, spt tammy.

          Nah kalau mau buat yg utk Kit, lubangnya ukuran 1cm x 1cm. Ukur lingkarannya pakai filter aja biar gampang.

          Ini yg di K:

          http://lifestyle.kompasiana.com/hobi/2013/01/09/main-bokeh-yuk-523787.html

          • Ok thanks pencerahanya๐Ÿ˜€ Wah udah udpate aja tulisanya hehehe

            Saya udah mau beli lensa prime 50mm loh mbak tapi karena stoknya di Jakarta lagi pda kosong jadi harus sabar dulu hehe #curhat

          • Ya kan sdh saya bilang tadi kalau saya sudah posting di K lebih dulu daripada disini. Ini aja saya kira temanya sdh berakhir, gak tahunya ini tema baru hahahahhhahhaaha..maklum, dah lama gak ikutan, jadinya demam panggung =))

            itu mbak Della baru aja terbitkan lagi hasil eksperimennya di K, pakai bokeh shape utk create framing tp gak bikin bokeh photo. cekidot aja

            Siplah kalau dirimu sdh punya prime lens nanti, semoga stock baru segera tiba. Kemarin disini ada toko kamera tutup krn gak mampu bersaing, tp harganya masih menguras kantong meski sdh diskon besar. lensa2x Nikonnya masih mahal padahal saya ancang2x prime lensnya hahahahahaahahaha.#belum rejeki๐Ÿ˜€

            baguslah kalau nanti punya prime lens, clarity images akan semakin bagus, sharpnya…wes ngences dah ahahahahahahahahahahaa

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination (2) « What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 2, 'Illumination']. « 3rdculturechildren

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge Lights | Weekly Photo Challenge

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenga: Illumination (3) « What's (in) the picture?

  7. Just got mine posted before they closed comments! I think I’m the last one. I combined Resolved and Illuminate. Hope you enjoy. Putting your link on this. Yours is so beautiful.

  8. Pingback: 2013 Resolved to Illuminate « SimplySage

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge | 2013 Resolved to Illuminate Beyond « SimplySage

  10. Truly extraordinary work, Inge!! I love the colors and the effects– absolutely dazzling! Most impressive of all is your dedication to your craft, and your willingness to experiment. You just keep getting better and better– great job!! : )

Thanks in advance either for having left a reply or liked my post :)

